MINUTES OF THE ARANSAS COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' COURT SPECIAL MEETING - JANUARY 25, 2021

On the 25th day of January, 2021, there was a Special Meeting of the Commissioners' Court, in the Commissioners' Courtroom, 2840 Hwy 35 N, Rockport, Aransas County, Texas, following the General Meeting, with the following members present in person, via ZOOM, or via YouTube: C. H. "Burt" Mills, Jr., County Judge; Leslie Casterline, Commissioner, Precinct 2; Pat Rousseau, Commissioner, Precinct 3; Wendy Laubach, Commissioner, Precinct 4; Carrie Arrington, County Clerk; and Christy Gibson, Chief Deputy County Clerk - Courts and Administration.

Other County Officers present in person, via YouTube, or via Zoom, were: Alma Cartwright, Treasurer; Pam Heard, District Clerk; Tracy Orr, Administrative Assistant to County Judge; Amanda Oster, County Attorney; Jennifer O'Steen, Assistant County Attorney; Jacky Cockerham, County Auditor; Tana Taylor; First Assistant County Auditor; Latisha Murphy, Assistant Auditor; Judge Richard Bianchi, County Court at Law Judge; John Gutierrez, Chief Deputy Uniform Operations (Sheriff's Department); Rhonda Konieczny, Executive Assistant to the Sheriff; Collin Jackson, IT Director; Judy Sutterfield, Senior IT Technician; Jerry Brundrett, County Surveyor; David Reid, County Engineer; Kat Comeaux, Development Services Coordinator; Valerie Gonzalez, Environmental Health Director; Mike Geer, Airport Manager; Rene Butler, Facilities Director; John Strothman, Project Manager; Kim Foutz, Long Term Recovery; and William Whitson, Long Term Recovery.

Members of Local City Government, Community Groups and other Interested Parties present in person, via YouTube, or via Zoom, were: Jason Parkoff, Texas Maritime Museum; Betty Stiles, Aransas County Historical Commission; Jennifer Day, Rockport Cultural Arts

District; Judge Patrick Flannigan; and Mike Probst, Editor and Publisher, The Rockport Pilot.

Aransas County Citizens present in person, via YouTube, or via Zoom, were: Andrew Kane; Richard Smith; Ken Patel; Mike Fields, Lesa Stanly; Allan Smith; and Kristie Rutledge.

The Meeting was convened at 9:00 a.m. at which time a quorum was declared by Judge Mills, WHEREUPON, the following proceedings were had and done, to wit:

CITIZENS TO BE HEARD

There were none.

PRESENTATIONS

There were none.

ITEM FOR DELIBERATION AND/OR ACTION

1. A motion was made by Commissioner Casterline and seconded by Commissioner Laubach to approve authorizing the County Judge to sign FEMA Policy FP 204-079-01 - Building Code and Floodplain Management Administration and Enforcement. County Engineer David Reid spoke about the policy change. FEMA has changed their rules that they will now reimburse for building code administration expenses, floodplain management, and substantial damage determinations. During the aftermath of Harvey, they were not an eligible expense. Moving forward, they will be but we have to opt in. Jacky Cockerham added that this includes the option to go back to Hurricane Harvey.

Question. Motion carried unanimously.

It is so ordered.

No further business presenting, the Court adjourned at 11:08 a.m. on a motion duly made by Commissioner Casterline and seconded by Commissioner Laubach.

C. H. "BURT" MILIS, JR., COUNTY JUDGE

CARRIE ARRINGTON, EX-OFFICIO CLERK

OF THE COMMISSIONERS' COURT

